Skip to main content

Washington D.C. – House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy (CA-23) released the following statement on the introduction of the President John F. Kennedy Commemorative Coin Act. The legislation co-sponsored by Senators Edward Markey (D-MA) and John McCain (R-AZ), and Congressman Joseph P. Kennedy III (D-MA) orders the Secretary of the Treasury to issue a President John F. Kennedy commemorative silver $1.00 coin in 2020.

“I am honored to be introducing this legislation with my colleagues to mint a silver dollar coin in honor of President John F. Kennedy. Whether it was asking what we can do for our country or challenging NASA and our nation to reach the moon, President Kennedy’s legacy is etched in history, and this coin suitably recognizes his many accomplishments and service to our country.”

A copy of the legislation can be found HERE.