Skip to main content

Washington, D.C. – Today, House Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy announced the launch of the Leader’s Advisory Team on Cuba.

The group will advise House Republicans on the ongoing freedom protests and government atrocities in Cuba, develop policies to ensure the United States stands in solidarity with the Cuban freedom movement, and educate the American people on the tyranny of the communist regime in Havana.

“The world has witnessed powerful images coming out of Cuba over the last five days. With thousands of Cubans in more than 40 cities and small towns taking to the streets, the protests mark a historic moment in a society whose Communist system has oppressed its citizens for more than 60 years. Their sudden eruption across Cuba is a dramatic and necessary repudiation of the Cuban communist regime.

“The Cuban people are risking everything to free themselves, their families, their country, and their futures from their socialist prison. For 62 years, we have stood with them in support of their desire for liberty and self-determination. Today, as the situation in Cuba reaches a turning point, we must stand unequivocally with Cuba’s brave freedom fighters. They need our robust support, not weak rhetoric. 

“That is why I am launching the Leader’s Advisory Team on Cuba and have asked its members to identify policies that will support the protestors and hold the Communist regime accountable for its human rights abuses. I know this team, many of whom are Cuban American and in one way or another have borne witness to the brutality of communism, will work diligently for the cause of freedom.”

The following individuals will serve on the team:

  • Senator Marco Rubio (FL)
  • Senator Rick Scott (FL)
  • Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25)
  • Rep. Carlos Gimenez (FL-26)
  • Rep. Maria Salazar (FL-27)
  • Rep. Nicole Malliotakis (NY-11)
  • Rep. Alex Mooney (WV-02)
  • Rep. Anthony Gonzalez (OH-16)
  • Resident Commissioner Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon (PR-AL)
  • House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence Ranking Member Devin Nunes (CA-22)
  • House Foreign Affairs Committee Ranking Member Mike McCaul (TX-10)
    House Energy and Commerce Committee Ranking Member Cathy Rodgers (WA-05)
  • House Appropriations Committee Ranking Member Kay Granger (TX-12)
  • Rep. Mark Green (TN-07)
  • Rep. Hal Rogers (KY-05)
  • Rep. Ken Calvert (CA-42)
  • Rep. Victoria Spartz (IN-05)
  • Rep. Chris Smith (NJ-04)